SLIDESHOW: Limerick and Clare Greyhounds owners awards night

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


THE Limerick and Clare Greyhound Owners and Breeders Association held their Annual Awards Night on Saturday January 5 at Limerick Greyhound track.

The awards were a celebration of the talent, success and achievement bestowed on the recipients by their peers.

The Award winners for 2018 are:

Dog of Year

The award goes to Knockbawn Buddy owned by Diane & Philip Mahon and trained by Diane’s father Michael Shine, Athea, Co. Limerick. Buddy won 9 races was second on 8 occasions and third twice.

Bitch of Year

Firestorm Ellie takes this award having won 8 times ,2nd twice and 3rd on 8 occasions. Ellie is owned by Michael McNamara and John Moroney and is trained by Michael’s son Donnacha, Tulla, Co Clare. A very worthy winner.

Owner with most Race Winners at Limerick

This award goes to the father and daughter Patsy and Aoife Coffey, Doon, who sent out a colossal 29 winners, 27 seconds and 29 third placed greyhounds. A truly remarkable achievement by any standards

Race programme

The race programme will comprise 13, all sponsored, races over all distances and grades, where 10 finals will be decided. In addition there will be a veteran’s race. Each winner will be presented with a piece of Galway Crystal and a walking out jacket.


A raffle will also take place during the evening for a variety of prizes including meal vouchers and a selection of bottles. The AGM of the Association will take place on Tuesday January 22 at 8pm in Limerick Greyhound Stadium.