WATCH: Janesboro claim Oscar Traynor win for Limerick over Clare

Pat Sheehan


Pat Sheehan


Limerick DL 2-0 Clare DL

The Limerick DL had the perfect opening to their Oscar Traynor tournament with a 2-0 win over their Clare counterparts at Jackman Park on Monday evening.

With no volunteers to take charge of the side and the League looking at the possibility of pulling out the team, Janesboro came to the League’s rescue and as Champions, agreed to put their players forward to represent the League………and it worked a treat.

The players familiarity with their team mates whims and habits was obvious, a plus that was missing from a lot of the Limerick sides over the last 20 years.

Limerick took the lead after 12 minutes when Adrian Power fired a low sot to the net following good work by Lee O’Mara.

The Clare side responded well and with Kieran Mahoney causing havoc down the left kept Limerick on the back foot for the remainder of the first half.

Limerick ventured forward more in the second half and should have taken the lead when Thomas Clarke headed Power’s header into the path of Lee O’Mara but Clare keeper James Tierney did enough to see the ball fired wide.

Limerick were not to be denied however and shortly after Power and Clarke combined again from another free kick and this time the centre back headed powerfully home from close range.

Clare pushed forward in search of a goal but a solid home defence held firm.

Limerick’s next hurdle is a home tie with Galway where a victory would see them top the group.  

Janesboro: John Mulready; Darragh Carroll; Ryan O'Doherty; Tom Clarke; Aidan Hurley; Jeffery Judge; Lee O'Mara; Niall Hanley; Shane Clarke; Keith Mawdsley; Adrian Power. Subs: Danny O'Neill; Andy Murphy

Clare DL: James Tierney; Steve Carroll; Ciaran Monaghan; Dylan Blake; Conor Mullen; Dylan Casey; Colin Smyth; Calum McNamara; Derek Fahy; David McCarthy; Kieran Mahoney. Subs: Peter O'Dwyer; Mattie Davenport