SLIDESHOW: Janesboro pip Aisling Annacotty in Munster Junior Cup

Pat Sheehan


Pat Sheehan


Munster Junior Cup - Janesboro 3 Aisling Annacotty 2 (aet)

Not for the first time this season, Janesboro displayed their fighting spirit as they came back from a two goal deficit to record a memorable win.

While the Premier champions will be celebrating their success they will also be conscious that had Aisling taken their chances they would be adding a Munster exit to their early FAI exit.

Aisling started the game in flying form and should have taken the lead after three minutes when Jason Lipper played a superb ball along the Boro goal line begging a touch but none arrived on time.

An early injury to top scorer Evan O’Connor did not deter the visitors who took the lead when Aaron Murphy’s header struck a defender on it’s way to the net.

Ten minutes later Jason Lipper’s determination saw him hold off two challengers to fire across John Mulready to the far corner for a superb goal.

Lipper was causing havoc in the ‘Boro defence and before the break his overhead kick would have made it 3-0 for a superb reflex save by Mulready.

After the break Janesboro upped the tempo and Aisling’s cause was not helped when a second yellow card saw Nathan O’Callaghan head for an early shower.

The visitors luck continued to ebb midway through the half when Ryan Doherty’s cross evaded keeper Stephen Walsh and struck a defender to end up in an empty goal.

Ten man Aisling were holding on doggedly and on 85 minutes had the chance to seal it but James Cleary’s shot hit the post and from the rebound Shane Donegan weaved his way into the six yard box but his point blank shot was blocked on the line by Lee O’Mara and Ryan Doherty.

With four minutes injury time played, as per script, Shane Clarke powered into the box to get on the end of Andy Murphy’s cross to head in the equaliser.

Extra time saw Clarke strike again when Aisling failed to get a strong challenge and the prolific ‘Boro striker fired a low shot past Walsh to win the tie.    

Janesboro: John Mulready; Darragh Carroll; Tom Clarke; Ryan O'Doherty; Dylan Kelly Higgins; Aidan Hurley; Niall Hanley; Jeffery Judge; Lee O'Mara; Shane Clarke; Keith Mawdsley. Subs: Andy Murphy; Aled Harkin; Conor Lynch; Evan Lynch

Aisling Annacotty: Stephen Walsh; Brian Butler; Steven Daly; Colm O'Reilly; Darren Harrington; Killian Moloney; Nathan O'Callaghan; Dylan Sheehan; Jason Lipper; Evan O'Connor; Aaron Murphy. Subs: Ben Banaghan; James Cleary; Shane Donegan; Graham Burke