SLIDESHOW: Shountrade claim Riedy Cup in win over Ferry Rangers

Frank Nelligan


Frank Nelligan


Shountrade became the first team since Rathkeale B in 2013 to retain the Riedy Cup when they secured a hard-earned 1-0 victory against Ferry Rangers in Friday night’s final in Clounreask.
The winning goal came in the 69th minute when Tim Frawley delivered a through ball to Shane Reynolds, who used his blistering speed to outpace his marker and then fired in off the post. The goal crowned a Man of the Match performance from Reynolds, whose pace and penetration meant that he was a constant thorn in Ferry’s side.
After receiving the Cup from Limerick Desmond League Treasurer, Anthony Riedy, Shorten rivaled an Oscar acceptance speech in his lengthy list of people to thank but he made sure to pay special tribute to manager Kevin Lenihan for all he has done for the team this season and in seasons past.

Shountrade: Kevin Lenihan, Bryan Meade, Ryan McCarthy, Cormac O’Shea, Tom McMahon, Denis Hayes, Richard Shorten, Aodhan O’Connor, David Lynch, Tim Frawley, Shane Reynolds. Subs: Denis Maune for McMahon, inj (23 mins), Adam Reidy, Mark Mullane, David Shire, Darrah Crocker.

Ferry Rangers: Micheal Carrig, Sean Carrig, Bobby Wrenn, Shane O’Connor, Gavin Breen, Gary Allen, Ian Flavin, Shea McDonnell, Pat Healy, Donal Leahy, Niall Foley. Subs: Cillian Langan for Allen (23 mins), Shane Heffernan for Healy (76 mins), Andrew Flavin for Foley (79 mins), Jack Healy, Cian Enright-Barry, Andrew Fitzgerald.

Man of the Match: Shane Reynolds (Shountrade).
Referee: Jim Molyneaux.
Assistant Referees: Paudie Manning and John Roche.
Fourth Official: Eugene Nunan.