SLIDESHOW: Limerick hurlers in bruising boxing bouts

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


THE Limerick senior hurlers thrilled a crowd of over 500 on Saturday night when they swapped their hurleys for boxing gloves and went between the ropes in aid of their 2018 training fund.

There were nine bouts in total in the South Court Hotel for the boxing tournament under the watchful eye of referee Finbarr O'Brien.

St Francis Boxing Club coaches Ken Moore and Valerie Donovan put the 18 boxers through the paces in recent months and the end result was nine top quality and often bruising encounters between the inter-county team-mates.

The first fight was between U-21 All Ireland winners; Colin Ryan and Oisin O’Reilly and Pallasgreen's Ryan was deemed the winner.

Next up; Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Darragh O’Donovan went to-to-toe in one of the fights of the night with Monaleen's La Touche Cosgrave winning.

Their was a Doon winner in the next contest with Pat Ryan defeating Sean Finn.

The fourth scheduled bout saw Barry Hennessy an impressive winner over Paul Browne.
In bout five All Ireland U-21 winning captain Tom Morrissey defeated Declan Hannon.

Bout six was between two time All Ireland U-21 winners Barry Nash and Seamus Flanagan - victory went to South Liberties' Nash.

U-21 Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane was up next against David Reidy. At the same time on Saturday night Gillane was honoured in Cork’s Fota Island Resort Hotel as the Munster U-21 Hurler of the Year but he wasn't successful on the double, with Reidy winning their bout.

The penultimate fight of the night saw Kyle Hayes defeat Diarmaid Byrnes.

In the final bout Cian Lynch defeated Richie English.

All nine fights were of three two minute rounds and introduced by MC Shane Dowling.

Overall victory went to the red team, coached by Ken Moore. 

RED TEAM: Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Sean Finn (Bruff), Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Richie English (Doon).

BLUE TEAM: Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Paul Browne (Bruff), Declan Hannon (Adare), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell).