SLIDESHOW: UL honours All Ireland winning captains

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


This week, the past and present of the UL GAA community came together at the Castletroy Park Hotel to recognise 22 students and graduates who have won All Ireland medals in 2017.

Among those being honoured were four members of the Galway panel who captured Liam McCarthy in September, nine Limerick U21 hurlers and five players from the winning Tipperary Intermediate LGFA.

Head of Sport at UL, Dave Mahedy: “The GAA is the top club in UL. Four out of the last five All Ireland winning captains are graduates of UL. You are role models, you are leaders. Not just on the field, but in business and academia. And that’s why you come to UL, to achieve.”

The All Ireland winning Galway captain, David Burke graduated from UL with a degree in Materials and Architectural Technology Education. He won a Fitzgibbon Cup with the club in 2011. 

Third year Physiotherapy student, Aisling McCarthy is a dual star with UL and is part of the Tipperary Intermediate Ladies Football team who won the All Ireland. During this “surreal” week, she was named the TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year.

Nine members of the All Ireland U21 hurling champions, Limerick were honoured at the Castletroy Park Hotel on Tuesday evening, including three players from the Bord Gáis Energy team of Year, Ronan Lynch, Kyle Hayes and Sean Finn.

Their captain, Tom Morrissey praised UL for recognising player achievements outside of the college. “It’s great to see the college take pride in what we do with the UL jersey on but also with our counties. It’s been a great year for everyone here tonight and to have it highlighted by the college makes it even more special. Fitzgibbon success has alluded me so far but hopefully before I leave I can get that medal and we have a brilliant team so that’s what we’ll be looking for.”





Julia White (Cork) – Graduate, Physical Education

Shauna Molloy (Galway) – Third year, Physical Education

Siobhan Condon (Tipperary) – Graduate, Physiotherapy

Maria Curley (Tipperary) – Fourth year, Sport and Exercise Science

Aisling McCarthy (Tipperary) – Third year, Physiotherapy

Emma Buckley (Tipperary) – Fourth year, Sport and Exercise Science

Roisin Howard (Tipperary) – Second year, Arts – Joint Honours

Eamon Kiely (Kerry) – Graduate, Materials and Engineering Technology Education

David Burke (Galway) - Graduate, Materials and Architectural Technology Education

Johnny Coen (Galway) - Graduate, Materials and Engineering Technology Education

Martin Dolphin (Galway)

Cyril Donnellan (Galway)

Tom Morrissey (Limerick) – Fourth year, Business Studies

Sean Finn (Limerick) – Fourth year, Business Studies 

Dan Joy (Limerick) – Third year, Construction Management 

Ronan Lynch (Limerick) – Third year, Design and Manufacture Engineering 

Kyle Hayes (Limerick) – Second year, Business Studies

Barry Nash (Limerick) – Third year, Technology Management 

Lorcan Lyons (Limerick) – Third year, Business Studies

Paudie Ahern (Limerick) – Third Year, Design and Manufacture Engineering

Michael Mackey (Limerick) – Second year, Bioscience