SLIDESHOW: St Munchin's defeat St Clement's to reach Junior Cup semi final

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent, at Thomond Park


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent, at Thomond Park


RAMPANT St Munchin’s College powered their way into the semi-finals of the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Junior Cup after recording a facile 60-6 victory over St Clement’s College on the back pitch at Thomond Park on Tuesday afternoon.

It’s 20 years since St Munchin’s last tasted Junior Cup success, but on the evidence of this season, the Corbally nursery is well-place to mount a serious challenge for honours this time round.

St Munchin’s racked up 10 tries in all against their city rivals, with their livewire scrum-half Donnacha O’Callaghan himself himself to a hat-trick of tries.

St Munchin’s, with Alexander Wood, son of former Munster, Ireland and Lions hooker Keith Wood at out-half, led 40-0 to half-time after scoring six tries.

Three tries in the opening 10 minutes put St Munchin’s on their way, with prop Kean Sheehy scoring a brace for the winners.

St Clement’s, who had two second half penalties from out-half Cian Casey, just couldn’t repeat the heroics of their previous round win over Glenstal Abbey School.

The St Munchin’s College backroom team this season includes head coach Ger Slattery, of Young Munster, as well as Garryowen scrum-half Neil Cronin and former Munster player Pat Cross.

SCORERS: St Munchin’s College: Donnacha O’Callaghan three tries, Kean Sheehy two tries, Darragh Long try, five cons, Kieran Ryan, Dylan Higgins, Conor O’Shaughnessy, Josh Costello try each. St Clement’s College: Cian Casey two pens.

ST MUNCHIN’S COLLEGE: Josh Egan; Joshua Costello, Darragh Long, Seamus McCarthy Burbage, Conor O’Shaughnessy; Alexander Wood, Donnchadh O’Callaghan; Kean Sheehy, Joachim Clohessy, Kieran Ryan, Louis McCormack, Graham Kirwan, Dylan Higgins, Evan Hickey, Liam Neilan. Replacements: Denis Bermingham, Nathan Walsh, Jonathan Kelly, Morgan Bateman, Diarmuid de Barra, Conor O’Brien Comerford, Scott Quilligan, Joseph Dougan, Kyle Luck, Daragh McDermot.

ST CLEMENT’S COLLEGE: Conor Galvin; Adam McNamara, Gary O’Halloran, Tarkan Pinarci, Jack McGarry; Cian Casey, Keith Punch; Ronan Madden, Shane Malone, Sean Farrell, Chima OHanya, Jeffery Rainsford, Jamie Pearse, Jason Murray, Kian McGrath. Replacements: Noel Kinnane, Gerard McGrath, Keith O’Brien, Ben Murphy, Liam Kelly, Josh Shinnors, Nathan Lane, Desmond Cowhey, Sean-Patrick O’Halloran.