Limerick FC sign Stephen Bradley

Former St Patrick's Athletic star Stephen Bradley has signed with Limerick FC for the coming season

Former St Patrick's Athletic star Stephen Bradley has signed with Limerick FC for the coming season

Limerick FC have signed the highly-rated Stephen Bradley from St Patrick’s Athletic ahead of the new Airtricity League Division 1 season.

The midfielder has agreed a two-year deal with The Super Blues ahead of the 2012 season. The Dublin native won two Irish U-21 caps and was signed by Arsenal as a teenager.

He also had spells with Scottish sides Dunfermline and Falkirk but since returning to play in Ireland he has won premier league titles with Drogheda (2007) and Shamrock Rovers (2010).

He is also the holder of an FAI Cup and Setanta Cup winners medal.

Bradley arrives on the back of another ex St Pats and Shamrock Rovers man - Shane Guthrie. The central defender signed for Limerick over the Christmas period.

“Stephen is a top player; I am delighted he has chosen Limerick. This is another indication of the continued commitment from our chairman Pat O’Sullivan,” said Limerick FC manager Pat Scully.

Although among the departures from last season are Jeffrey Judge (Pike Rovers), John Frost (Waterford Utd), Peter White (Waterford Utd), Brian McCarthy (Athlone Town), Thomas Lyons (Janesboro) and Garvan Broughall (Athlone Town), Pat Scully is assembling a top class squad of the March start to the First Division of the Airtricity League.

Scully’s squad return for pre-season training next week and ahead of the mid-March start of the First Division of the Airtricity League, Limerick already have three friendly games confirmed.

The year opens against Sligo Rovers on February 11, with Cork (February 18) and Drogheda Utd (February 25) also pencilled in.

Elsewhere in the Airtricity League, two Limerick natives have signed for Premier Division sides.

Dundalk have signed striker Gary Shanahan from Desmond League junior side Newcastle West while Lee Jay Lynch has signed for Sligo Rovers from Drogheda Utd.

Limerick FC squad - Denis Behan, Andrew Bhandarkar, Garbhan Coughlan, Shane Cusack, Joe Gamble, Rory Gaffney, Shane Guthrie, Stephen Bradley, Shaun Kelly, Steven McGann, David O’Leary, Pat Purcell, Padraic Quinn, Corie Treacy, Dave Ryan, Barry Ryan




Back to the top of the page