Limerick TD selected as Fine Gael chairman

Dan Neville, new FG chairman

Dan Neville, new FG chairman


Limerick TD Dan Neville has been chosen as chairman of the Fine Gael party.

Mr Neville was selected at a parliamentary party meeting on Wednesday evening. He succeeds Charlie Flanagan who was recently appointed Minister for Children following the mini-reshuffle in the wake of Alan Shatter’s departure as Minister for Justice.

The Croagh resident has been a TD since 1997 when he was elected in the old Limerick West constituency. Prior to that he was a senator for eight years and a member of Limerick County Council.

From 2002 to 2007 he was deputy chief whip of Fine Gael and was a member of the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children and a member of the Dáil Committee on Procedure and Privileges.

As founder and president of the Irish Association of Suicidology, he has been a strong advocate on mental health issues. In May 2008, he was elected as chairman of the Joint Oireachtas Sub-committee on Suicide Prevention.

Mr Neville was chosen ahead of a number of other candidates for the role of chairman, including Waterford TD Paudie Coffey and Dublin South-Central deputy Catherine Byrne.

Tom Neville - his son - is a candidate for Fine Gael in the Adare Rathkeale area for the upcoming local elections.




Back to the top of the page