Formation of new Limerick City and County Council is finalised

Brigid Teefy was the first councillor to be elected to the new Limerick City and County Council [Picture: Michael Cowhey]

Brigid Teefy was the first councillor to be elected to the new Limerick City and County Council [Picture: Michael Cowhey]

The make-up of the new Limerick City and County Council has been finalised following an historic election and marathon three-day count at the UL Arena.

More than 72,000 people across Limerick went to the polls on Friday to elect 40 councillors to the new local authority across six electoral areas.

Cllr Brigid Teefy (Ind) was the first person to be elected on Saturday evening while the final candidate to be elected was Ciara McMahon (SF) on Monday afternoon.

Limerick City and County manager, Conn Murray, has welcomed each of the newly elected members to the local authority.

“A new political structure has now been created representing an historic change for local government in Limerick,” he said.

“I look forward to working with all the new councillors, it’s fantastic to see the mixture of youth and experience that has emerged which is clearly representative of the voice of Limerick. This fusion of energy and knowledge presents an exciting opportunity for the years ahead which will undoubtedly be challenging,” he added.

The first meeting of the new joint authority will take place on Friday, June 6.

The 40 members of the new local authority, are:

Limerick City East (8): Séighin O’Cellaigh (SF), Shane Clifford (FF), Kieran O’Hanlon (FF), Paul Keller (AAA), Michael Sheahan (FG), Elena Secas (Lab), Marian Hurley (FG), Jerry O’Dea (FF)

Limerick City North (6): Maurice Quinlivan (SF), Cian Prendiville (AAA), Michael Hourigan (FG), John Gilligan (Ind), Frankie Daly (Lab), Joe Crowley (FF)

Limerick City West (7): James Collins (FF), Maria Byrne (FG), Joe Leddin (Lab), Daniel Butler (FG), Malachy McCreesh (SF), John Loftus (AAA), Sean Lynch (FF)

Cappamore / Kilmallock (7): Brigid Teefy (Ind), Eddie Ryan (FF), Lisa Marie Sheehy (SF), Noel Gleeson (FF), Michael Donegan (FF), Gerard Mitchell (FG), Bill O’Donnell (FG)

Newcastle West (6): Jerome Scanlan (FG), Michael Collins (FF), Liam Galvin (FG), Seamus Browne (SF), Francis Foley (FF), John Sheahan (FG)

Adare / Rathkeale (6): Emmett O’Brien (Ind), Tom Neville (FG), Stephen Keary (FG), Kevin Sheahan (FF), Richard O’Donoghue (FF), Ciara McMahon (SF)

The final state of the parties is FF-13; FG-12; SF-6; Lab-3; AAA-3; Ind-3

See this weekend’s Limerick Leader, print editions for photos, reports and analysis of the local elections.




Back to the top of the page